Ireland Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame logo

Honour Swimmers

Elaine Burrows Dillane

Elaine Burrows Dillane

Elaine Burrows Dillane was the second female and sixth swimmer overall to complete the Original Triple Crown:  North Channel 34.5 km (2021), English  Channel 33 km (2019) and Bristol Channel 27km (2022).  She was the first female swimmer and second swimmer to complete the Irish Triple Crown: North Channel, Fastnet to Baltimore 19.1 km (2020) and Galway Bay 10 km (2021).

She is also only the third female swimmer from Ireland complete both the North and English Channels – and with the fastest times (as of end 2021):  14 hours 54 minutes and 30 seconds and 12 hours 45 minutes.

Her other marathons include:  Blennerville to Maharees 20 km (2018), Fenit to Blennerville Return 16 km (2017), around Ringarogy Island 10 km (2019)  and Fenit to Derrymore Return 10 km (2019)

Elaine also gave back to the sport:  raised 21,000 Euro for Brain Tumour Ireland through her English Channel Swim and crewed for Gerard McDonnell’s 20 km Muckalugh Swim and David Conradie’s Fastnet Swim.

Finbarr Hedderman

Finbarr Hedderman

Finbarr Hedderman completed the two big marathons by which Irish swimmers are measured: The
North Channel in 2014 (The 20th  swimmer – before this swim became more popular and the routes
more mature) and the English Channel in 2008.

His other marathon swims include three of the S.C.A.R. (Arizona) freshwater lakes in 2016 over a
four-day period: Saguaro (15.2 km), Canyon (14.4 km) and Roosevelt (10 km) and Saguaro and
Canyon again in 2022.  He also swam from the famous Robben Island (South Africa 7.4 km) in 2018
and Baltimore to Fastnet in 2022.

In the past he was honoured with the Poseidon Award from the International Swimming Hall of
Fame (as part of the Cork Organising Committee of the Global Open Water Swimming Conference)
for his services to swimming and the Mike Harris Award from the Sandycove Island Swimmers.  He
also organised several mass participation open water swims and completed three Ice Mile swims.
He played water polo for UCC for over a decade and served on the Ireland Water Polo National
Executive for many years, including for a period as Chairman.  He has crewed for several marathon
swimmers in the English Channel including Jim Shalloo and Mo Siegel.

Rosie Foley

Rosie Foley

Rosie Foley is one of an exclusive group of Irish swimmers to complete the Triple Crown – one
of the sport’s great “bucket list” accomplishments:  English Channel in 2014, Around
Manhattan and Catalina Channel in 2022.

Other marathons: 2013 Wicklow 10 km, 2014 the first unassisted swim the length of Lough
Derg 38 km (earning ILDSA’s Performance of the Year Award), 2019 Strait of Gibraltar
2020 Galway Bay and 2021 Tralee Bay – the Maharees to Fenit. 1st  Female to swim around
Cork City 7km July 2021, winning Shannon Region Open Water Swim League Winner 2021.

She completed an IISA Ice Mile 31/01/2021 and has contributed as a voluntary organiser, Swim
Ireland Tutor, Irish Water Safety Instructor and Examiner.

Rosie has had a distinguished sporting career: All Ireland medals in Gaelic Football,
University & Club in Rugby, Tag rugby & Athletics (shot putt and javelin).  In Rugby Rosie
captained University of Limerick and Munster and earned 39 International Rugby Caps for Ireland
2001 – 2006, including two Rugby World Cups. She is the first female rugby commentator on RTE, and
President of Ballina/Killaloe RFC.

In 2018 Rosie was inducted to of the University of Limerick Sports Hall of Fame for her
unique contribution to sport. Currently raising more than €50,000 for charity.

Honour Contributor (Crew)

Kevin Williams

Kevin Williams

Kevin Williams dedicated 15+ years to the advancement of swimming in Tralee and since 2011 led
open water swimming.

To get to local marathon swimming, Kevin helped organise “Across the Tralee Bay Challenge 5km” in
2007 and reinstated it in 2013 – completed by more than 350 swimmers. In 2009, he reintroduced
“Blennerville to Fenit 8km” – completed by more than 250 swimmers. He started in 2013 “The
Tralee Bay Winter Swimming and Turkey Series” – all togs with Sunday attendance of typically more
than 100.

Kevin organised the first local marathon in 2009, “Maharees to Fenit 12 km” – completed by more
than 40 swimmers. This inspired Elaine Burrows Dillane to become the first Kerry woman to solo the
English Channel in 2019 – and go on from there. To end September 2022, 13 swimmers have
completed 18 ratified marathon swims under his guidance in Tralee Bay. Coach to Elaine’s Irish and
Original Triple Crowns and has crewed on many channel crossings.

He is an accomplished marathoner as well: Blennerville to Maharees 20km and Fenit to Blennerville return 16km (both first time completed)..

Noel Browne

Noel Browne

Noel Browne crewed for 3 different English Channel solo swimmers from 2011 to 2022. He crewed for Stephen Redmond (International and Irish Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame) on many of his key
Ocean Sevens and Fastnet swims:
2011 and 2012: Baltimore Fastnet to Schull * 38k
2012: Tsugaru Channel (4 times) and Baltimore to Skibbereen on the Ilen River
2013: Irish Sea and Castletownbere to Mizen
2018: Baltimore to Fastnet and back 40k Unsuccessful first attempt
2019-2022 – more !

He also crewed:

Darren Millar – 2012 Tsugaru Channel

Sean Murray and Eoin O’ Sullivan – 2014 Fastnet to Baltimore and 2015 – Strait of Gibraltar

Nathan Timmins – 2016 Fastnet to Baltimore and 2017 English Channel (two trips)

Kevin Maxwell – 2017 Fastnet Baltimore
Ken O Shea – 2018 Fastnet to Crookhaven.

His more recent accompaniments have been as the observer for the Fastnet Organisation.

Noel is an accomplished administrator on the new Fastnet Organisation and other shorter local swims and marathon solo swimmer as well: Fastnet to Baltimore, Castletownshend to Union Hall, and Gibraltar.